Raye Jones Avery

Dennis Fortune

Dennis Fortune adjunct professor of music at Drexel University has been teaching and performing in the Philadelphia area for over 35 years. He holds a B.A. degree in music and sociology from Dickinson College and is currently the musical director for the groups FVC and The Jenkins Project. He has traveled extensively throughout the U.S. and the world performing with such artists as Esther Satterfield, Jean Carne, Donald Byrd, Billy Paul, Norman Connors, and numerous others. He is the recipient of the Delaware Division of the Arts Fellowship for jazz composition. He currently has released five CDs and produced projects for many other artists. He composed the music for the WHYY television special “Four Presidents the Great American Clean Up” and the Delaware production of “The Four Poster” starring Jasmine Guy and Keith David. Christina Cultural Arts Center awards an annual scholarship “The Dennis Fortune Scholarship for Musical Excellence” to a deserving student studying jazz piano.